The Last Judgment

Buch | Orgel

Verlag: Alphonse Leduc
Komponist: Naji Hakim
Format: Noten | Partitur und Stimmen

The Last Judgment is a through-composed symphonic tableau that follows the structure of the text of Matthew, underlining it in a figuralistic manner. Other scriptural references are also to be found: an image of the sun that turns dark (Acts of the Apostles 2: 20), and, before the gathering of the nations, twelve chords representing the thrones for the judgment of the twelve tribes of Israel (Matthew 19: 28).

The thematic material combines original figures with Gregorian chant: the Gloria from the Missa de Angelis; the Alleluia of the Epiphany; Dies irae, the sequence from the Requiem Mass; In paradisum, the burial antiphon. The sections in recitative style follow the declamatory rhythm of the corresponding verses in Arabic, the composer’s mother tongue.

Finally, the registration requires a symphonic style organ such as the Goll organ in Memmingen, Germany, at which the composer prepared the orchestral expression of this work.

ISBN: 9790046292675
Skill Level: Fortgeschrittene Explain this
Veröffentlicht am: 27 August 2014
Sprache: Englisch
Katalognr.: AL29267

      Kürzlich angesehen

      The Last Judgment
      32,00 €