John McCabe: Nocturnal Op.42 For Piano Quintet (Score and Parts)

Buch | Streichinstrumente, Klavier-Kammermusik

Verlag: Novello
Komponist: John McCabe
Format: Noten | Partitur und Stimmen

John McCabe's Nocturnal For Piano Quintet was composed in 1966, commissioned by the Park Lane Group, London, and first performed by the Lancaster University Ensemble.

Duration: Approximately 13 minutes.

Composers Note: 

The title of this work is a reference to John Donne's poem A Nocturnal upon St Lucie's Day, the mood of which is reflected in the quintet. It falls into several movements, played without a break: Introduction (Andante), setting forth the main thematic ideas of the music; Nocturne 1 (Allegro vivo), an agitated, virtuoso, scherzo-like section; a tripartite central part of the work consisting of two Cadenzas framing a brief Interlude, the first Cadenza being largely for strings, the second mainly for piano, and the Interlude harking back to the feeling of the Introduction; Nocturne 2 (Andante molto), a slow piece gradually building to a unison theme on strings accompanied by a tolling piano background. This dies down to lead to an Epilogue, ending with a final reference to the work's opening bars. 

Sprache: Englisch
Katalognr.: NOV120217

      Kürzlich angesehen

      John McCabe: Nocturnal Op.42 For Piano Quintet (Score and Parts)
      Streichinstrumente, Klavier-Kammermusik
      34,75 €