C. Saint-Saens: Sonata for Violoncello and Piano in D major (incomplete)

Buch | Cello, Klavierbegleitung

Verlag: Bärenreiter
Format: Noten | Instrumentalmusik

The French composer Camille Saint-Saëns endowed the music world with a multitude of masterpieces for violoncello including concertos, sonatas and miniatures such as The Swan and the Allegro appassionato Op.43.

This first publication of the Sonata in D major is based on Bärenreiter’s Camille Saint-Saëns Œuvres instrumentales complètes. Although we know from correspondence that two complete autographs existed, only an incomplete autograph source containing the 1st movement and part of the 2nd movement, which breaks off, have come down to us. In his final work for violoncello Saint-Saëns juxtaposes highly rhythmical episodes with more poetic ones. These contrasts are reinforced by bold shifts of harmonic colouring and a highly inventive thematic development.

These movements are destined to become standards for cellists.

  • First ever Urtext edition of this incomplete work based on Camille Saint-Saëns Œuvres instrumentales complètes
  • Informative Introduction (Fr/Eng/Ger)
  • ISBN: 9790006558858
    Skill Level: Fortgeschrittene Explain this
    Veröffentlicht am: 05 Juli 2017
    Seitenzahl: 42
    Katalognr.: BA10910

        Kürzlich angesehen