L. van Beethoven: Piano Sonatas in C minir, F major, D major Op.10

Buch | Klavier

Verlag: Bärenreiter
Format: Noten | Instrumentalmusik

Edited by Jonathan Del Mar

With an Introduction by Misha Donat and notes on performance practice by Jonathan Del Mar and Misha Donat

The three popular sonatas Op.10 were written between the end of 1795 and the beginning of 1798, only shortly after Beethoven had completed his first fully-fledged sonatas Op.2. In the press they were announced as "3 very nice piano sonatas" of a composer whose name would sufficiently guarantee "for the quality of his work to the audience." The three technically and musically demanding works, which reach their peak with the third sonata and its highly expressive Largo e mesto, have their firm place in advanced Piano teaching.

The musicologist Jonathan Del Mar, intimate connoisseur of Beethoven’s music, evaluates all sources and editions published during Beethoven’s lifetime for the present scholarly-critical Urtext edition. Particularly enlightening is the chapter on period performance practice which sheds light on certain issues of Beethoven’s instruments and their range, the usage of the pedals, tempo, dynamics, articulation and ornaments. The Introduction offers information on the work and its genesis. The detailed Critical Commentary accounts for sources, readings and editorial emendations. In this edition great care has been given to a user-friendly layout which on the one hand reflects the flow and tempo of the music and on the other hand facilitates the study of this complex music by means of a transparent and clear appearance on the page as well as good page turns.

- Urtext performance edition at the cutting edge of scholarship
- Optimal page turns
- Informative Introduction
- Valuable suggestions on period performance practice (Eng/Ger)
- Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)

ISBN: 9790006561919
Skill Level: Fortgeschrittene Explain this
Veröffentlicht am: 16 März 2017
Seitenzahl: 84
Katalognr.: BA10857