J.S. Bach: French Suites BWV 812-817

Buch | Klavier

Verlag: Henle Verlag
Format: Noten | Instrumentalmusik

Johann Sebastian Bach composed three great cycles of suites that belong to the fundamental canon of Piano literature: the Partitas and the so-called English and French Suites. It is the French Suites that have long been by far the most popular – and this was also the case at the time that they were written. However, this also creates problems for an editor preparing an Urtext edition, because a vast number of copies of them were made by Bach’s circle of pupils, and these contain many presumably authentic variants.

This Henle Urtext Edition has been edited by Ullrich Scheideler, who explains the complicated source situation with exemplary clarity. He lists the more minor source variants in footnotes; where there are major differences, both versions of individual movements are printed in full.

This opulent volume is rounded off with an appendix offering alternative and additional pieces. This Henle Urtext Edition has been completely revised. It enables pianists and Bach enthusiasts alike to re-discover Bach’s universe for themselves.

This edition includes fingering by Michael Schneidt.

Veröffentlicht am: 24 Januar 2017
Seitenzahl: 107
Sprache: Englisch, Französisch, Deutsch
Katalognr.: HN593

        Kürzlich angesehen