Simon Holt: Darling Eve In The Evil Garden

Buch | Klavier

Verlag: Chester Music
Komponist: Simon Holt
Format: Noten | Instrumentalmusik

Darling Eve In The Evil Garden is a sequence of five pieces for Piano by Simon Holt. The work was commissioned by Joseph Houston and first performed by him on 10th December 2015 at St John's Smith Square, London. A full performance lasts around 8 minutes.

‘This is not music for the faint hearted, and perhaps only the most super-charged of pianistic virtuosos could have any hope of bringing it off convincingly in performance. In between the two outer movements come a pair of uneasy miniatures ('Evil Garden' has strikingly explosive flourishes for both hands whilst 'Vile Danger' makes the most of augmented and diminished triads in percussive triads at the extreme tessituras). Perhaps most striking of all is the 'Raven Glide,' marked sempre pianissimo and requiring the utmost control and deftness of touch from any pianist brave enough to attempt its shimmering 32nd-note atonal passagework. Challenging, bold and impressive music of our time.’ - Murray McLachlan, International Piano

Veröffentlicht am: 22 Juli 2016
Seitenzahl: 24
Länge: 8'
Sprache: Englisch
Katalognr.: CH84249

      Kürzlich angesehen