Sadie Harrison: Three Dances For Diana Nemorensis

Buch | Bratsche

Komponist: Sadie Harrison
Format: Noten | Instrumentalmusik

Sadie Harrison's Three Dances For Diana Nemorensis for solo Viola.
Composed and published 2013.
Duration: 6 minutes.

Three Dances is based on the Greco-Romano tripartite representation of Diana-Selene-Hecate, known as Diana Nemorensis.

I: Diana
'She carries a quiver on her shoulder, and overtops all the other goddesses as she walks'
Virgil, Aeneid 1. 494 ff.

II: Hecate
'Hecate whose name is howled by night at the city cross-roads.'
Virgil, Aeneid 4. 609 ff.

III: Selene
'Daughter of Helios, Mene [Selene] of many turnings.'
Nonnus, Dionysiaca 44. 198 ff

The work was premiered by Diana Mathews on 19th August 2013 at St. James’ Piccadilly, London.

ISBN: 9790570364749
Veröffentlicht am: 04 Juli 2016
Seitenzahl: 9
Länge: 6 minutes
Sprache: Englisch
Katalognr.: M570364749

        Kürzlich angesehen